LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Finding OERs for Teaching

Resources for Teaching

ALTEC
Through engaging in research and development, and providing professional learning opportunities, ALTEC seeks to advance the instructional integration of emerging and existing technologies to engage students and improve learning.
Annenberg Learner
Annenberg Learner funds and distributes educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers.
CK-12
An array of teaching resources that allow instructors to create classes, assign practice, and track student performance. They offer e-text books (flex-books), multimedia resources, and assessment materials.
Curriki
A community driven hub where teachers can create, share, and explore K-12 resources.
Discovery Education
Discovery Education provides digital curriculum resources for K–12 classrooms, digital textbooks, and multimedia content.
more...less...
Some parts such as creating puzzles are free, other sections have a cost.
edutopia
Edutopia focuses on evidence-based successes and uses how-to videos and tip lists to help develop educational leadership. It interviews teachers, students, principals, and administrators, and these educators share their resources such as rubrics, lesson plans, assessments, and training tools.
Field Trip Earth
fieldtripEARTH focuses on field-based wildlife conservation research projects ongoing around the world. Some of the projects are "live," meaning that research activities, and one or more research scientists, are currently active in the field.
MIT OpenCourseWare
OCW is a free and open publication of material from thousands of MIT courses across the entire MIT curriculum. That’s courses from every MIT department and degree program, and ranging from the introductory to the most advanced graduate level.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Open Course Library
A collection of free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.
PBS Learning Media
PBS and your local station have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more just for teachers like you.
readwritethink
ReadWriteThink, provides educators, parents, and after school professionals with access to reading and language arts instruction and materials for free.
Share My Lesson
Share My Lesson is a place where educators can come together to create and share their very best teaching resources. Developed by teachers for teachers, this free platform gives access to high-quality teaching resources and provides an online community where teachers can collaborate with, encourage and inspire each other.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
The Smithsonian Learning Lab is a major rethinking of how the digital resources from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, 9 major research centers, the National Zoo, and more, can be used together, for learning.
WikiEducator
An evolving online community intended for the planning of education projects and the development of free content on WikiEducator for free learning.

University System of Georgia Open Textbooks
With the facilitation of Affordable Learning Georgia, openly licensed textbooks on different subjects have been published by the University System of Georgia. Ancillary materials are also available.
University of California Press Luminos
Luminos is University of California Press’s Open Access publishing program for monographs. With the same high standards for selection, peer review, production and marketing as our traditional program, Luminos is a transformative model, built as a partnership where costs and benefits are shared.
SUNY Open Textbooks
Established by State University of New York libraries, this initiative publishes a growing list of peer-reviewed open access textbooks.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Saylor Academy hosts a collection of openly licensed textbooks and open online courses.
Portland State University Open Access Textbooks
This is a collection of free, openly licensed textbooks published by the Portland State University Library.
Open Textbook Store
This portal identifies open textbooks for math subjects such as algebra, calculus, and statistics.
Open Textbook Library
Based at the University of Minnesota, the Open Textbook Library offers an expanding catalog of openly licensed textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty members.
OpenStax
This non-profit organization based at Rice University publishes free peer-reviewed textbooks written by professional content developers. It has created subject-related hubs for instructors to share teaching resources.
Open Oregon: Resources
This list shows what Oregon community college instructors have used to replace commercial textbooks. Those resources might be suitable for similar courses at other institutions.
Open Book Publishers
Open Book Publishers wants to change the nature of the traditional academic book. Our books are published in hardback, paperback and ebook editions, but we also publish free online editions of every title in PDF, HTML and XML formats that can be read via our website, downloaded, reused or embedded anywhere.
Grand Valley State University Open Textbooks
These free textbooks are authored by faculty members at the Grand Valley State University.
BC Campus OpenEd
Founded in British Columbia, this site offers a variety of openly licensed textbooks for undergraduate studies.

Boundless
Boundless provides a number of open course packages. Each course package contains reading materials, PowerPoints, and assessments.
CLACSO Libros
Supported by the Latin American Council of Social Sciences, CLACSO Libros provides free access to academic books from Latin American countries and other continents.
Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. This resource indexes peer-reviewed academic books in different languages published by over 100 publishers.
Hathi Trust
Thousands of out-of-copyright books digitized by academic libraries are available via HathiTrust.
Requires linkblue login at the HathiTrust site.
Knowledge Unlatched
knowledge unlatched makes scholarly content freely available to everyone and contributes to the further development of OA infrastructure.
MIT Press Open
The MIT Press provides free downloads of monographs on a wide range of subjects.
National Academies Press
Established by the National Academy of Sciences, NAP publishes on a wide array of topics in science, engineering, and medicine.
National Emergency Library
a temporary collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
OAPEN
University presses and publishers from different countries have made their scholarly monographs in Humanities and Social Sciences freely downloadable through the OAPEN Library.
Open Culture
This site indexes a variety of cultural and educational materials, including textbooks, eBooks, audio books, and movies.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg includes literary and other intellectual works in many languages.
SciELO Livros
SciELO Livros publishes online academic books written in Spanish and Portuguese.
SCOAP3 Repository
This repository holds all open access journal articles sponsored by the international SCOAP3 initiative.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Hundreds of books published by the University of California Press are freely accessible through this portal.
Unglue.it
This page from unglue.it aggregates books that are distributed with an open license or are in the public domain.
Wikibooks
Authors voluntarily start the book writing project, and readers can nominate them to be “featured books.”

HippoCampus
A free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Contains various types of digital moving images, such as fiction and documentary films, advertisements, news footage, television programmes, etc. Select those with a Creative Commons license for reuse
Internet Archive Feature Films
Contains feature films, shorts, silent films and trailers. Select those with a Creative Commons license for reuse.
Khan Academy
Provides video lessons mostly in mathematics and science topics. Also offers lessons in the humanities and economics. Khan Academy videos are licensed under the MIT license: http://opensource.org/licenses/mit-license.php. Most videos are under a Creative Commons Attribution license. Users need to set up a personal login and password.
Library of Congress: Film and Video
Archived video and film from the Library of Congress.
Ted Talks
Provides access to videos from expert speakers on a wide range of topics. TED talks are available under the Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-Non Derivative license. The TED-ED portion of TED aims at educators and students. Note that TED-ED videos on YouTube are available under YouTube policy. For more, refer to the Ted Talk Usage Policy.
Vimeo Creative Commons
Vimeo permits upload of videos licensed with Creative Commons. To limit search results to only show items with Creative Commons licenses, on the main search results page, look for “+ more filters” on the left. Then under “License”, select “CC0” or other desired license.
YouTube Creative Commons
An online video community that allows users to discover, watch and share originally-created videos. YouTube allows users to mark their videos with a Creative Commons Attribution license. To find YouTube videos with such a license, after typing your search query in the search box, click the “Filters” drop-down menu and select “Creative Commons”.

Flickr
Flickr hosts millions of Creative Commons-licensed images. Notably, Flickr provides a separate Creative Commons licensed videos collection.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository that is completely dedicated to providing educational media that are released either in the public domain or under Creative Commons license.

CCMixter
This is a community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses.
Library of Congress Audio Collections
Listen to music, interviews, field recordings, and more from the Library's historic sound recording collections. All the sound recordings in this collection are in the Public Domain, so that is the license information you would use in the citation. Search tip: Use the search box at the top; narrow down the options on the left side; or click on the "Collections with Audio Recordings" to browse historical collections of music.
SoundBible
Offers free sound clips for download in either wav or mp3 format. Each sound clip has license information, so look for that column when determining license and usage.
Sound Cloud
SoundCloud has become renowned for its unique content and features, including the ability to share music and connect directly with artists, as well as unearth breakthrough tracks, raw demos, podcasts and more. This is made possible by an open platform that directly connects creators and their fans across the globe.

Start a Search Here!

The Mason OER Metafinder searches across multiple different OER sources. Sources such as: OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT, HathiTrust, NYPL Digital Collections, and more!

OERs

Shared Canadian Curriculum in Family Medicine (SHARC-FM)
Developed by Canadian family medicine educators and students, this portal provides free access to point-of-care clinical flashcards, virtual patient cases, and assessment tools.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central provides free access to biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
NWABR Teacher Center
NWABR (Northwest Association for Biomedical Research) offers a variety of resources to support teaching and learning in the biomedical community.
LifeSciTRC
LifeSciTRC (Life Science Teaching Resource Community) holds openly licensed teaching resources for a number of disciplines.
Life in the Fastlane (LITFL)
This Web site connects readers with free online resources for emergency medicine and critical care.
JHSPH Open Courseware
JHSPH Open provides 110 courses in Health and Medical areas, such as adolescent health, aging, behavior, occupational health, biostatistics, cancer, chronic diseases, public health, health policy, HIV, infectious disease, injury prevention, malaria, maternal health, nutrition, and mental health.
Full course packages are provided including syllabus, readings and assignments.

Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL)
COERLL produces and disseminates open educational resources to support the teaching and learning of foreign languages.
Erudit
Érudit is a non-profit inter-university consortium that provides free access to scholarly and cultural journals published in English and French.
ESOL Oregon
Created by an instructor who teaches English for speakers of other languages (ESOL), this site provides openly licensed materials for the teaching and learning of English.
Getty Research Portal
This portal offers a search function and provides access to an extensive collection of digitized art history books from various institutions around the world.
LangOER
LangOER aims to enhance teaching and learning of "less used languages."
Open Library of Humanities
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers "hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy" and also indexes scholarly publications in the discipline.
Reveal Digital: Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access collection open to anyone thanks to the financial support provided by the project’s Funding Libraries. The Collection is hosted on the Reveal Digital platform, which provides page image-based access with full-text searching, hit-term highlighting, searchable title and issue-level metadata and browsing by series, title and source library.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN provides full-text access to scholarly publications in Social Sciences and Humanities disciplines.

airXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,696,284 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
BioInteractive
BioInteractive offers multimedia resources, including apps, animations, videos, interactives, and virtual labs, for science education at different levels.
ChemCollective
ChemCollective's is developed by Carnegie Mellon to support a community of instructors interested in improving chemistry education through interactive and engaging online activities.
DOE PAGES Repository
This is the repository for journal articles resulted from the Department of Energy grants.
Free Programming Books
This is an index of free online books about a wide array of programming languages.
Geo For All
This portal introduces visitors to open source geographic information system tools and provides links to opportunities for geospatial education.
InTech
A multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Physical Sciences, Engineering, Technology, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Business, Social Sciences, and the Humanities. InTech has published more than 850 Open Access books, and provides support services for faculty who wish to publish a book or journal and make it available via Open Access.
Mathigon
Mathigon is a learning platform with a completely new curriculum that takes advantage of the interactivity and personalization features. It combines traditional topics like arithmetic and algebra with more unusual ones like graph theory, cryptography or fractals.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT provides free access to learning materials for a variety of subjects in Physical Sciences and Engineering.
MyOpenMath
MyOpenMath supports math instructors by providing access to free homework, quizzes, and tests. It also enables people to pursue self-study.
nanoHUB
Provides over 1600 open teaching and learning resources: online presentations; course material; learning modules; podcasts; simulation tools. Created by the NSF-funded Network for Computational Nanotechnology.
NASA PubSpace
This is the repository for peer-reviewed publications and associated data from research funded by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
NSF Public Access Repository
This is the repository for journal articles resulted from the National Science Foundation grants.
OPEN.ED@PSU
The College of Earth and Mineral Sciences at Penn State University has launched this initiative to provide educational resources under a Creative Commons license.
PLOS Collections
The Public Library of Science (PLOS) has curated collections of peer-reviewed journal articles on a variety of topics for research and educational purposes.
PubAg
Established by the US Department of Agriculture, PubAg is a portal for access to thousands of agricultural research publications.
PubDefense
PubDefense enables search and access to journal articles that are the results of research funded by the Department of Defense and IARPA (Intelligence Advanced Research Projects Activity).
SkillsCommons
This repository holds free and open learning materials for "job-driven workforce development." The materials were developed by community colleges across the US.
USGS Publications Warehouse
This repository provides access to publications written by USGS scientists and journal articles resulted from USGS grants.
Virtual Soil Science Learning Resources
Launched by a group of Canadian institutions, this site features online courses and learning resources for soil science.
WeBWork
WeBWorK is an open-source system for math and science exercises that provides access to over thousands of homework problems.
Wisc-Online
Maintained by Fox Valley Technical College, this portal provides access to learning objects in the fields of health, science, mathematics, technology, and general education.

Try Searching OASIS!

OASIS is developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library. OASIS searches open content from multiple different sources and contains thousands of records!

Textbooks, Lessons & Course Building

Openstax

Nonprofit from Rice University peer reviewed

OER Commons

OER lesson plans, courses, etc.

LibreTexts

Online platform to construct, customize, and disseminate OERs

California Open Online Library for Education (COOL4Ed)

California Open Online Library for Education

Open Textbook Library

Free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed

MERLOT

MERLOT Search

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

Open Learning Initiative Courses

Open Learning Initiative Courses

The Open Learning Initiative provides free learning materials about languages and STEM subjects.

Open Michigan

Open.Michigan

"Open.Michigan is a University of Michigan initiative dedicated to creating and sharing knowledge resources and research created at U-M with the global learning community."

Lumen

Lumen Learning
Discover recommended OER courses that improve learning, covering 50+ high-enrollment college subjects.

CC Search

Creative Commons Search
CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.