Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Have a suggestion or recommendation for open access e-book resources? Please contact the Serials and Electronic Resources Librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org
Open Access Ebook Resources
Amazon Kindle Free eBook Collections
Free classics and out-of-copyright, pre-1923 books, as well as limited-time free promotional ebooks available for Kindle.
Barnes & Nobles Free eBooks
Use on your Nook, Nook software or Barnes & Noble eReader software or app.
Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing free access to books in public domain.
Digital Book Index
Thousands of digital books available from commercial, noncommercial, universities and various private sites. Most of them are available at no charge.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a searchable index of academic, peer-reviewed, open access ebooks that includes links to the full text on the publishers' websites.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) gathers materials form libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.
Search for, read and download more than 10 million open access books.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Offers over 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
National Academies Press Free eBooks
Created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine with more than 8,500 titles in PDF format.
Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Offers over 53,000 free ebooks, most of which are primary source texts: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Project Muse Open Access
Platform for open access journals and eBooks.