Radiologic Sciences: Sample Titles

From basic physics principles to the actual process of producing diagnostic-quality x-rays, Essentials of Radiographic Physics and Imaging effectively guides you through the physics and imaging information you need to excel on your ARRT exam and as a professional radiographer. The text's clear language and logical organization help you easily master physics principles as they apply to imaging, plus radiation production and characteristics, imaging equipment, film screen image acquisition and processing, digital image acquisition and display, basics of computed tomography, image analysis, and more. Theory to Practice discussions help you link these principles to real-world applications and practice. An emphasis on practical information provides just what you need to know to pass the ARRT exam and to be a competent practitioner. Integrated coverage of digital radiography describes how to acquire, process, and display digital images, and explains the advantages and limitations of digital vs. conventional imaging processes. Theory to Practice succinctly explains the application of the concept being discussed and helps you understand how to use the information in clinical practice. Make the Connection links physics and imaging concepts to help you fully appreciate the importance of both subjects. Math applications demonstrate how mathematical concepts and formulas are applied in the clinical setting. Critical Concepts further explain and emphasize key points in the chapters. Learning features highlight important information with an outline, key terms, and objectives at the beginning of each chapter and a chapter summary at the end. A glossary of key terms provides a handy reference.

This book is intended as an introduction to neuroradiology and aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive overview of this highly specialized radiological subspecialty. One hundred illustrated cases from clinical practice are presented in a standard way.  Each case is supported by representative images and is divided into three parts: a brief summary of the patient's medical history, a discussion of the disease, and a description of the most characteristic imaging features of the disorder. The focus is not only on common neuroradiological entities such as stroke and acute head trauma but also on less frequent disorders that the practitioner should recognize. Learning Neuroimaging: 100 Essential Cases is an ideal resource for neuroradiology and radiology residents, neurology residents, neurosurgery residents, nurses, radiology technicians, and medical students.

The remarkable story of how today's brain scanning techniques were developed, told by one of the field's pioneers It is now possible to witness human brain activity while we are talking, reading, or thinking, thanks to revolutionary neuroimaging techniques like magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). These groundbreaking advances have opened infinite fields of investigation--into such areas as musical perception, brain development in utero, and faulty brain connections leading to psychiatric disorders--and have raised unprecedented ethical issues. In Looking Inside the Brain, one of the leading pioneers of the field, Denis Le Bihan, offers an engaging account of the sophisticated interdisciplinary research in physics, neuroscience, and medicine that have led to the remarkable neuroimaging methods that give us a detailed look into the human brain. Introducing neurological anatomy and physiology, Le Bihan walks readers through the historical evolution of imaging technology--from the x-ray and CT scan to the PET scan and MRI--and he explains how neuroimaging uncovers afflictions like stroke or cancer and the workings of higher-order brain activities, such as language skills. Le Bihan also takes readers on a behind-the-scenes journey through NeuroSpin, his state-of-the-art neuroimaging laboratory, and goes over the cutting-edge scanning devices currently being developed. Considering what we see when we look at brain images, Le Bihan weighs what might be revealed about our thoughts and unconscious, and discusses how far this technology might go in the future. Beautifully illustrated in color, Looking Inside the Brain presents the trailblazing story of the scanning techniques that provide keys to previously unimagined knowledge of our brains and our selves.

With clear, step-by-step instructions and more than 400 detailed full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 8th Edition helps you develop the technical and interpersonal skills necessary to effectively care for radiography patients in the clinical environment. Current, comprehensive coverage aligned with ASRT curriculum guidelines helps you connect concepts to clinical applications and confidently master essential procedures and techniques for safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, assessment, and more. Integrated patient care tips and procedure descriptions help you ensure high-quality patient care as well as technical proficiency. Infection control content helps you prevent the spread of diseases. Special coverage familiarizes you with appropriate patient care for a wide range of imaging modalities. Procedure photo-essays walk you through essential techniques. Case studies help you build the critical thinking and problem-solving skills to address situations you may encounter on the job. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking activities highlight the most important chapter content and help you retain information more effectively. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest advances in: Patient comfort measures Patient care relative to patient age Assisting patients with dressing and undressing Assessment of extremities in casts Assessments of pediatric patients for evidence of potential child abuse Assessment of geriatric patients for evidence of potential elder abuse Descriptions and precautions for pediatric IV medication administration Information on pulmonary embolism Information on Jackson-Pratt and Penrose drains NEW! Full-color illustrations and photographs clarify techniques and clinical details. NEW! Safety boxes with warning icons alert you to common safety concerns youÕll encounter in practice. NEW! Real-world scenarios throughout the text help you understand the practical application of chapter concepts. NEW! Simplified organization makes complex content more accessible and helps you study more efficiently.

With comprehensive coverage of both digital radiography and conventional film-screen radiography, RADIOGRAPHIC IMAGING AND EXPOSURE, 4th Edition helps you master the fundamental principles of imaging, produce clear images, and reduce the number of repeat radiographs. This practical text also includes Important Relationship, Mathematical Application, and Patient Protection Alert features throughout to provide helpful information every step of the way. Comprehensive coverage of both digital radiography and conventional film-screen radiography helps students and radiographers master the fundamental principles of imaging, produce clear images, and reduce the number of repeat radiographs. UNIQUE! Integrated digital radiography coverage includes information on how to acquire, process, and display digital images. UNIQUE! Patient Protection Alerts highlight the variables that impact patient exposure and how to control them. UNIQUE! Important Relationships boxes call attention to the fundamentals of radiographic imaging and exposure. UNIQUE! Mathematical Applications boxes familiarize you with the mathematical formulas needed in the clinical setting. NEW! Updated information reflects the latest advances in digital imaging, fluoroscopy, and the X-ray beam with added x-ray emission graphs. NEW! Image receptor and image acquisition coverage describes the construction of image receptors and how the latent (invisible) image is captured, and addresses the advantages and limitations of digital vs. conventional imaging processes. NEW! Image Evaluation chapter allows you to practice applying what you've learned about image quality and exposure technique factors.

1400+ Q&As and a test-simulating CD deliver unmatched preparation for the radiography certification/recertification exam 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This is an excellent resource for radiography student interns to use to prepare for the national registry. It poses a series of questions from each integral portion of radiography and covers all the units thoroughly....This is a wonderful resource for students to use to fully prepare for the exam....This is the best book around to prepare interns for the exam."--Doody's Review Service LANGE Q&A: Radiography Examination, 9e provides radiography students and recertifying radiographers with more than 1,400 registry-style questions with detailed answer explanations. Questions are organized by topic area for focused study and the book also includes two comprehensive practice exams.This ninth edition includes the ARRT examination content to be implemented in January 2012. Also new is coverage of computed tomography (CT) technology within the chapters on radiation protection, equipment, procedures, and CT imaging. Also included is an exam-simulating CD containing two complete practice exams. Features Sections include Patient Care,Radiographic Procedures,Radiation Protection,Image Production and Evaluation, andEquipment Operation and Maintenance Written by an author with more than 35 years teaching experience Each question includes detailed explanation of correct and incorrect answer options Companion CD features one complete practice exam