Respiratory Care: Sample Titles

How hard can it be .. ..to eat a meal? ..to take a shower? ..to walk across the room? If you have lung disease, or have a friend or family member with lung disease, you know how hard it can be. This book is a compilation of stories: stories of strife, determination, faith, and accomplishment from many who have lived with lung disease. Take a journey through living with lung disease with them. Obtain a deeper understanding of their joys, disappointments, and dreams. This book was the vision of a pulmonary patient who has walked the walk . Even though she had no previous experience with publishing, she followed her heart s desire to help others tell their story. Fulfill the dream of these individuals. Allow them to share their deeply personal stories with you. You will laugh, cry, and understand. Never give up on anything, miracles happen every day Rebecca H. Crouch PT, MS, DPT, CCS, FAAVPR Clinical Director of Pulmonary Rehabilitation Proceeds benefit further research for pulmonary disease.

Respiratory students and therapists can learn the latest in respiratory care for newborns and children from this updated book. Readers will study fetal development of the cardiopulmonary system, then learn respiratory care of neonatal and pediatric patients, as well as causes and care of respiratory illnesses. A section devoted to ventilation and oxygenation includes information on both conventional and special techniques. Even topics such as care of parents and home care are discussed in detail. Ten clinical case studies supplement the main text.Key features:¨ Corresponds with the new NBRC content outline for the perinatal/pediatric specialty exam¨ New section on specialty medical gases¨ Practice questions, laboratory exercises, and checklists now located in the book to improve understanding ¨ Information on conventional and non-conventional ventilators¨ Ten clinical case studies support application of content from the main text.(KEYWORDS: respiratory care, respiratory therapy, respiratory therapists, pediatric, perinatal, child respiratory care)

Respiratory disease is the second most common cause of death worldwide. Patients with advanced non-malignant disease, such as chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, have similar or even greater health care needs than those with advanced lung cancer. Uncontrolled symptoms, distress, and socialisolation contribute to the poor quality of life experienced by such patients.This book provides practical guidance to professionals who care for patients with advanced respiratory disease. It gives evidence-based advice on a wide range of topics, including management of respiratory and non-respiratory symptoms, chronic respiratory failure, and respiratory emergencies.Recognition of when a patient may be approaching the end of life can be particularly challenging in patients with advanced respiratory disease. Ways to facilitate prognostication are covered, along with the significant communication and ethical challenges that this phase of life can present.Written by a respiratory specialist and two palliative medicine physicians, this book will be of great value to doctors, nurses, and allied healthcare professionals working in respiratory medicine and in palliative care, both in relation to everyday clinical practice as well as meeting therequirements for postgraduate exams.

Purchase of this book includes free trial access to www.million-books.com where you can read more than a million books for free. This is an OCR edition with typos. Excerpt from book: CHAPTER III. THE PENETRABILITY OF ATOMIZED FLUIDS INTO THE AIR-PASSAGES. In the preceding considerations, and while discussing the mode of applying the medicated spray, it has been assumed that this can be made to reach not only the fauces and pharynx, but the respiratory channels. Now, with reference to the former point there can be no question; but much skepticism has prevailed as regards the entrance into the air tubes of the pulverized fluids; and before passing on to indicate the uses of these agents, it is incumbent to inquire into the evidence on which it has been assumed that they penetrate into the lungs, or even into the larynx. Not to mention further the well-known facts alluded to in connection with the coal miner's lung, and which have a strong bearing on the subject, the evidence of fine particles reaching the air-passages is of two kinds: first, that furnished by demonstrative experiments made on animals and man; and, secondly, that attained by perceiving the effects of inhaling the atomized liquid, particularly its prompt effect in producing or allaying spasm, in checking hemorrhage and the like. To the first category belong the interesting experiments of Demarquay, which, repeated in the presence of Poggiale, were used by him as the basis of his able report to the French Academy. Dogs and rabbits, with their mouths forced open and their nostrils closed, were made to inhale for five minutes a pulverized solution of perchloride of iron, of the strength of 1 part of the iron to 100 of distilled water. The animals were afterward killed, and throughout the larynx, trachea, bronchial tubes, and even in the lung structure, the presence of the persalt of iron was clearly detected by the production of Prussian blue with the ferrocyanide of potassium and acetic aci...

Respiratory support techniques for treating respiratory failure - including oxygen therapy, non-invasive ventilation (NIV) and continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) - are used in a variety of healthcare settings, which include intensive care units, high dependency units, respiratory wards and the community. In response to national guidelines there are growing numbers of patients being considered for non-invasive respiratory support techniques, both as a short and long term treatment, resulting in an increasing number of healthcare professionals requiring knowledge and skills to provide care. Written for qualified healthcare professionals with experience of caring for patients with respiratory conditions, this text provides a practical guide to oxygen therapy, NIV and CPAP, clearly defining how and when the various treatments are used and including ideas on developing protocols to support practice.

This uniquely comprehensive work provides a pictorial guide to the whole spectrum of diseases and disorders of the respiratory tract in children. It covers the ear nose and throat, upper and lower airways, and encompasses not only the many conditions that are commonly encountered, but also those that are rarer or more difficult to recognise and diagnose. These include the increasingly important areas of sleep disorders, where patient assessment may present a challenge. Designed to aid the clinician in making a rapid and accurate diagnosis, this Atlas will be of interest to paediatricians, respiratory physicians, and ENT specialists.

Featuring the work of recognized worldwide experts, this user-friendly text presents the most current scientific information, diagnostic approaches, and management strategies for the care of children with acute and chronic respiratory diseases. A consistent chapter format enables you to rapidly and effortlessly locate the most current protocols on manifestations, etiologies, triggers, approaches to treatment, complications, and preventative strategies. And, a bonus website-new to this edition-features all of the book's illustrations and extensive reference lists for each chapter in electronic format for your personal use. Includes guidance on differential diagnosis to help you determine which disease or condition your patient may have. Uses extensive color-coded algorithms to facilitate quick diagnosis, management, and treatment decisions. Organizes material to parallel your clinical decision making process. Provides expert guidance on what diagnostic tests to order for each patient-and how to interpret the results. Presents important "take home" concepts within each chapter to help you recall clinical pearls. Includes the most need-to-know basic science, focusing on providing clear implications for patient care. Includes a separate website with all of the images from the text and extensive reference lists-downloadable for your personal use. Provides the latest scientific information and diagnostic and management strategies for the care of children with respiratory illnesses. Features a new, functional four-color design to help you identify important information quickly and differentiate between essential and extraneous material. Presents cutting-edge coverage with new information on the biology of, and the influences on, the respiratory system during childhood, as well as the diagnosis and management of both common (ie, wheezing infant, cystic fibrosis, tuberculosis) and less common (ie, SARS, chest tumors, collagen vascular diseases, Familial Mediterranean Fever) conditions.

Respiratory Care Clinical Competency Lab Manual provides the practical skills needed to apply classroom theory to clinical practice. This text has the flexibility to be used in conjunction with all other respiratory care titles, as well as in other disciplines that require competencies in respiratory therapy. With detailed, step-by-step procedures, supporting procedural illustrations, hands-on lab exercises, case studies, and critical thinking questions, this text helps you understand and apply theoretical knowledge by demonstrating specific skills. Procedural competency evaluation forms help you to assess your progress and performance of specific procedures. Detailed, structured lab activities provide hands-on opportunities to assess psychomotor and patient communication skills in a controlled environment. Content correlation to NBRC combined CRT/RRT exam content outlines helps you better prepare for credentialing exams. Step-by-step procedural competencies prepare you for the RT competency areas established by the American Association of Respiratory Care (AARC) and meet the national practice standards for patient care. Up-to-date coverage of current technology, equipment, Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs), CPR guidelines, and CDC recommendations, and mass casualty/disaster management equips you with the most state-of-the-art training for respiratory care. Integration of case-based questions within the lab activities helps you develop and promote your critical thinking abilities. UNIQUE! Coverage of polysomnography addresses clinical evaluation in this expanding specialty area. Over 200 images provide visual guidance on how to perform procedures. UNIQUE! Reality Check boxes arm you with practical knowledge on real-world application of various procedures. UNIQUE! Tip boxes supply you with helpful pointers for the clinical arena. Glossary of terms offers quick reference to terms presented in the text.

This edition integrates self-test questions, illustrations, and detailed explanations, as well as provides new material on sleep disordered breathing, the newer methods of staging of lung cancer, interstitial lung diseases, and infections.