It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This invaluable resource is made available via EBSCOhost®. It contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.
This invaluable resource is made available via EBSCOhost®. It contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.
OCLC's WorldCat (public search interface). Look for books, videos, and more from libraries worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by George Ritzer (Editor)
Call Number: HM425 .E47 2004
Publication Date: 2004-08-19
Reference 1st Floor
The Encyclopedia of Social Theory is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
Theories covered include • Critical Theory • Enlightenment • Ethnomethodology • Exchange Theory • Feminism • Marxist Theory • Multiculturalism • Phenomenology • Postmodernism • Rational Choice • Structural Fundamentalism
Led by internationally renowned scholar George Ritzer, the Encyclopedia of Social Theory draws together a team of more than 200 international scholars covering the developments, achievements, and prospects of social theory from its inception in the 18th century to the present. Understanding that social theory can both explain and alter the social world, this two-volume set serves as not only a foundation for learning, but also an inspiration for creative and reflexive engagement with the rich range of ideas it contains.
Key Themes • American Social Theory • British Social Theory • Comparative and Historical Theory • Cultural Theory • Economic Sociology • Feminist Theory • French Social Theory • German Social Theory • Macrosociological Theories • Marxist and Neo-Marxist Approaches • Method and Metatheory • Network and Exchange Theories • Other/Multiple National Traditions • Politics and Government • Postmodern Theory • Psychoanalytic Theory • Schools and Theoretical Approaches • Symbolic Interaction and Microsociology • Theorists • Topics and Concepts in Social Theory
Key Features • More than 300 entries from fourteen countries • Master Bibliography • Reader’s Guide • Extensive biographical coverage of major theorists • Extensive cross-referencing
Sociology by Stephen H. Aby
Call Number: Z7164 .S68 A24 1997
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Reference 1st Floor
Useful for patron guidance and for selection of reference sources, this book identifies and describes approximately 550 of the major reference sources in sociology, its subdisciplines, and some related disciplines. Emphasis is on works in English published in the last decade. Virtually all sources in the book have been thoroughly examined and described by the compiler.
Sociological Abstracts by Sociological Abstracts, Inc.
Call Number: HM1 .S67
Reference, Abstracts 1st Floor
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta (Editor); Rhonda J. V. Montgomery (Editor)
Call Number: HM426 .E5 2000
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Reference 1st Floor
Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.