Chemistry: Sample Titles

Drinking water disinfection has markedly reduced diseases causes by waterborne pathogenic microorganisms. However, an unintended consequence of disinfection and/or oxidation processes is the generation of disinfection byproducts (DBPs) which are formed from the reactions of disinfectants/oxidants with water matrix components. This volume of the Comprehensive Analytical Chemistry Handbook presents recent advances about the formation, identification, and quantification of inorganic and organic DBPs during oxidative processes. The book begins with a first chapter reviewing the most recent non-targeted screening approaches and workflows to characterize DBPs using low-, high-, and ultra-high-resolution mass spectrometry. The second chapter discusses the analysis of inorganic chloramines in waters using on-site and/or in-lab analytical methods. The third chapter provides an overview of the current knowledge about the mechanisms of chlorine dioxide reactions and byproducts formation. The fourth chapter presents some fundamental and practical aspects about ozonation processes in water treatment and provides an overview about ozone reaction mechanisms and byproducts formation. The fifth chapter focuses on the reactivity of halide ions, particularly bromide and iodide, with common oxidants and the role they play in determining the speciation of DBPs in treated waters. The chapter also presents strategies to mitigate the formation of DBPs during oxidation processes. Finally, the last chapter tackles the topic of DBPs formation during potable water reuse. It discusses the formation of DBPs of major concern in both memebrane-based and non-membrane-based potable water reuse treatment schemes. Researchers, water treatment specialists, and regulators will find in this book a valuable and compact resource on several key topics regarding the formation, identification, quantification, and mitigation of DBPs.

This textbook is a complete and clear introduction to the field of crystallography. It includes an extensive discussion on the 14 Bravais lattices and their reciprocals, the basic concepts of point- and space-group symmetry, the crystal structure of elements and binary compounds, and much more. The purpose of this textbook is to illustrate rather than describe "using many words" the structure of materials. Even readers who are completely unfamiliar with the topic, but still interested in learning how the atoms are arranged in crystal structures, will find this book immensely useful. Each chapter is accompanied by exercises designed to encourage students to explore the different crystal structures they are learning about. The solutions to the exercises are also provided at the end of the book.

Most lab manuals assume a high level of knowledge among biochemistry students, as well as a large amount of experience combining knowledge from separate scientific disciplines. Biochemistry in the Lab: A Manual for Undergraduates expects little more than basic chemistry. It explains procedures clearly, as well as giving a clear explanation of the theoretical reason for those steps. Key Features: Presents a comprehensive approach to modern biochemistry laboratory teaching, together with a complete experimental experience Includes chemical biology as its foundation, teaching readers experimental methods specific to the field Provides instructor experiments that are easy to prepare and execute, at comparatively low cost Supersedes existing, older texts with information that is adjusted to modern experimental biochemistry Is written by an expert in the field This textbook presents a foundational approach to modern biochemistry laboratory teaching together with a complete experimental experience, from protein purification and characterization to advanced analytical techniques. It has modules to help instructors present the techniques used in a time critical manner, as well as several modules to study protein chemistry, including gel techniques, enzymology, crystal growth, unfolding studies, and fluorescence. It proceeds from the simplest and most important techniques to the most difficult and specialized ones. It offers instructors experiments that are easy to prepare and execute, at comparatively low cost.

The trusted, innovative, calibrated leader-now tightly-integrated with MasteringChemistry® .   Unrivaled problems, notable scientific accuracy and currency, and remarkable clarity have made Chemistry: The Central Science the leading general chemistry text for more than a decade. Trusted, innovative, and calibrated, the text increases conceptual understanding and student success in general chemistry by building on the expertise of the dynamic author team of leading researchers and award-winning professors.   The new Thirteenth Edition builds on the Twelfth Edition's major revision, in which every word and piece of art was scrutinized by all the authors to increase its effectiveness. Placing a greater emphasis on research, this edition is more tightly integrated with MasteringChemistry, the leading online homework, tutorial, and assessment program-- resulting in an unparalleled teaching and learning package that personalizes learning and coaches students toward understanding and mastery of tough chemistry topics.   This program presents a better teaching and learning experience--for you and your students. It provides: Superior support beyond the classroom with MasteringChemistry: Students benefit from personalized, interactive learning through MasteringChemistry's self-paced tutorials that guide them through the text's most challenging topics; provide immediate, specific feedback; and keep students engaged and on track. Enhanced learning from a dynamic author team of leading researchers and award-winning professors: Each member of this well-respected author team brings their expertise in a wide range of areas to the pages of this popular text. All authors have been active researchers and have taught general chemistry for many years.  Improved conceptual understanding through stepped up, relevant pedagogy: Students get numerous opportunities to test their knowledge through Give It Some Thought (GIST) exercises, Go Figure questions, and A Closer Look essays, now integrated with clicker questions and in MasteringChemistry. Invaluable aids that ensure problem-solving success:  By using a consistent process, a unique Analyze/Plan/Solve/Check format, dual-column problem-solving approach in certain areas, a new practice exercise following each worked example, and the Strategies in Chemistry feature, students are placed on the right path from the very start to excel at problem solving and comprehension. Clarity through visualization from a variety of perspectives, including macroscopic, microscopic, and symbolic: Included are Visualizing Concepts exercises, with models, graphs, and other visual materials; sample exercises with molecular illustrations; and conceptual questions in the end-of-chapter questions. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MasteringChemistry does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MasteringChemistry search for ISBN-10: 0321864409/ISBN-13: 9780321864406. That package includes ISBN-10: 0321910419/ISBN-13: 9780321910417 and ISBN-10: 0321934245/ISBN-13: 9780321934246. MasteringChemistry is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor.

A novel proposal for teaching organic chemistry based on a broader and simplified use of quantum chemistry theories and notions of some statistical thermodynamic concepts aiming to enrich the learning process of the organic molecular properties and organic reactions. A detailed physical chemistry approach to teach organic chemistry for undergraduate students is the main aim of this book. A secondary objective is to familiarize undergraduate students with computational chemistry since most of illustrations of optimized geometries (plus some topological graphs) and information is from quantum chemistry outputs which will also enable students to obtain a deeper understanding of organic chemistry.

Alchemists are generally held to be the quirky forefathers of science, blending occultism with metaphysical pursuits. Although many were intelligent and well-intentioned thinkers, the oft-cited goals of alchemy paint these antiquated experiments as wizardry, not scientific investigation.Whether seeking to produce a miraculous panacea or struggling to transmute lead into gold, the alchemists radical goals held little relevance to consequent scientific pursuits. Thus, the temptation is to view the transition from alchemy to modern science as one that discarded fantastic ideas aboutphilosophers stones and magic potions in exchange for modest yet steady results. It has been less noted, however, that the birth of atomic science actually coincided with an efflorescence of occultism and esoteric religion that attached deep significance to questions about the nature of matter andenergy.Mark Morrisson challenges the widespread dismissal of alchemy as a largely insignificant historical footnote to science by prying into the revival of alchemy and its influence on the emerging subatomic sciences of the late 19th and early 20th centuries.Morrisson demonstrates its surprisinginfluence on the emerging subatomic sciences of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Specifically, Morrisson examines the resurfacing of occult circles during this time period and how their interest in alchemical tropes had a substantial and traceable impact upon the science of the day. ModernAlchemy chronicles several encounters between occult conceptions of alchemy and the new science, describing how academic chemists, inspired by the alchemy revival, attempted to transmute the elements; to make gold.Examining scientists publications, correspondence, talks, and laboratory notebooks as well as the writings of occultists, alchemical tomes, and science-fiction stories, he argues that during the birth of modern nuclear physics, the trajectories of science and occultism---so often consideredantithetical---briefly merged.

This book covers the general properties of heterocyclic compounds and methods for their preparation to use in applications of green chemistry. Heterocyclic compounds are an important class of molecules in organic chemistry due to their presence in natural products and their use in pharmaceuticals and new materials. They also play a vital role in the metabolism of living cells. Heterocyclic compounds have a wide range of applications in agrochemicals, pharmaceuticals, veterinary products, etc. This research-oriented volume is ideal for readers who want to fully realize the almost limitless potential of heterocyclic compounds and to discover new and effective pharmaceuticals among heterocyclic compounds, the largest and most varied family of organic compounds. The book features several case studies and step-by-step descriptions of synthetic methods and practical techniques. It also serves as a guide for chemists, offering them new insights and new paths to explore for effective drug discovery.

This anthological description of the history and applications of photochemistry provides photochemistry practitioners with complementary information about the field, currently not covered in existing textbooks and handbooks. The first part focuses on the historical development of the field, including light-matter interaction, the discovery of photochemical reactions and the development of modern photochemical mechanisms. This section provides useful background to the second part which outlines applications of photochemistry in the present day, such as in synthesis, green chemistry, diagnostics, medicine and nanotechnology. Furthermore, the author provides an outlook on promising areas for future developments. The broad scope of "Photochemistry: Past, Present and Future" is also of interest to the wider chemical audience and it makes a pleasant read while not compromising on scientific rigor.

With the development of a variety of exciting new areas of research involving computational chemistry, nano- and smart materials, and applications of the recently discovered graphene, there can be no doubt that physical chemistry is a vitally important field. It is also perceived as the mostdaunting branch of chemistry, being necessarily grounded in physics and mathematics and drawing as it does on quantum mechanics, thermodynamics, and statistical thermodynamics.With his typical clarity and hardly a formula in sight, Peter Atkins' Very Short Introduction explores the contributions physical chemistry has made to all branches of chemistry. Providing an insight into its central concepts Atkins reveals the cultural contributions physical chemistry has made toour understanding of the natural world.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.

This book gives a progress report on the many and original contributions of radiation chemistry to the fundamental knowledge of the vast domain of chemical reactions and its applications. Radiation chemistry techniques indeed make it possible to elucidate detailed physicochemical mechanisms in inorganic and organic chemistry (including in space) and in biochemistry. Moreover, this comprehension is applied in materials science to precisely control syntheses by radiation, such as radiopolymerisation, radiografting, specific treatment of surfaces (textiles, paintings, inks, etc.), synthesis of complex nanomaterials, degradation of environmental pollutants and radioresistance of materials for nuclear reactors. In life sciences, the study of the effects of radiation on biomacromolecules (DNA, proteins, lipids) not only permits the comprehension of normal or pathological biological mechanisms, but also the improvement of our health. In particular, many advances in cancer radiotherapy, in the radioprotection of nuclear workers and the general population, as well as in the treatment of diseases and the radiosterilization of drugs, could be obtained thanks to this research. Abundantly illustrated and written in English by top international specialists who have taken care to render the subjects accessible, this work will greatly interest those curious about a scientific field that is new to them and students attracted by the original and multidisciplinary aspects of the field. At a time when radiation chemistry research is experiencing spectacular development in numerous countries, this book will attract many newcomers to the field.

In this brief, renowned inorganic chemist Jay Labinger tracks the development of his field from a forgotten specialism to the establishment of an independent, intellectually viable discipline. Inorganic chemistry, with a negation in its very name, was long regarded as that which was left behind when organic and physical chemistry emerged as specialist fields in the 19th century. Only by the middle of the 20th century had it begun to gain its current stature of equality to that of the other main branches of chemistry. The author discusses the evidence for this transition, both quantitative and anecdotal and includes consideration of the roles of local and personal factors, with particular focus on Caltech as an illustrative example. This brief is of interest both to historians of science and inorganic chemists who would like to find out how their field began.