Clinical Laboratory Science: Sample Titles

A volume in the Illustrated Colour Text series, this book presents both the basic principles of microbial infection and a short systematic treatment of the organisms and the diseases caused by infection. Concludes with a section on the general principles of the control and treatment of infection. Bacteria, fungi, and protozoa are covered. Information is presented in a highly accessible form, using a double-page spread for each topic with graphics, summary boxes and tables.

CLINICAL RESEARCH AND THE LAW The legal implications of conducting clinical research and trials are becoming more complex. Everyone involved in clinical research increasingly needs to be aware of not only the ethical issues at stake but also how the law affects medical practice and research. Much of clinical research and trial law and litigation is comparatively recent and researchers need to ensure current compliance on a wide range of issues including: standards and duty of care conflicts of interest establishing clinical trials informed consent research contracts the disclosure and withholding of clinical trial results Clinical Research and the Law comprehensively discusses these topics and provides the answers to the legal questions and potential pitfalls encountered in medical research. It is an up-to-date, practical guide for clinical investigators and their institutional administrators, particularly risk managers and research administrators, as well as healthcare administrators and members of institutional review boards. This book is also a key resource for medical students, postgraduate research students, practicing attorneys and counselors for teaching hospitals and institutions undertaking clinical research and contract research organizations.

Building on the success of the first edition and bringing together contributions from a range of experts in the field, the second edition of this guide to research on wild primates covers the latest advances in the field, including new information on field experiments and measuring behaviour. It provides essential information and advice on the technical and practical aspects of both field and laboratory methods, covering topics such as ethnoprimatology; remote sensing; GPS and radio-tracking; trapping and handling; dietary ecology; and non-invasive genetics and endocrinology. This integrated approach opens up new opportunities to study the behavioural ecology of some of the most endangered primates and to collect information on previously studied populations. Chapters include methodological techniques; instructions on collecting, processing and preserving samples/data for later analysis; ethical considerations; comparative costs; and further reading, making this an invaluable tool for postgraduate students and researchers in primatology, behavioural ecology and zoology.

Intended for use with any A&P textbook, this best-selling laboratory manual features a wide variety of exercises and activities designed to meet the needs of any 2-semester anatomy & physiology laboratory course. Known for its thorough, clearly-written exercises, full-color art, and tear-out review sheets, this lab manual gives you a hands-on laboratory experience. This lab manual is available in four versions: Cat, Main, Pig, and Rat.    This package contains: Human Anatomy & Physiology Laboratory Manual, Rat Version

Human Molecular Biology Laboratory Manual offers a hands-on, state-of-the-art introduction to modern molecular biology techniques as applied to human genome analysis. In eight unique experiments, simple step-by-step instructions guide students through the basic principles of molecular biology and the latest laboratory techniques. This laboratory manual's distinctive focus on human molecular biology provides students with the opportunity to analyze and study their own genes while gaining real laboratory experience. A Background section highlighting the theoretical principles for each experiment. Safety Precautions. Technical Tips. Expected Results. Simple icons indicating tube orientation in centrifuge. Experiment Flow Charts Spiral bound for easy lab use

The Manual of Commercial Methods in Clinical Microbiology 2nd Edition, International Edition reviews in detail the current state of the art in each of the disciplines of clinical microbiology, and reviews the sensitivities, specificities and predictive values, and subsequently the effectiveness, of commercially available methods - both manual and automated. This text allows the user to easily summarize the available methods in any particular field, or for a specific pathogen - for example, what to use for an Influenza test, a Legionella test, or what instrument to use for identification or for an antibiotic susceptibility test. The Manual of Commercial Methods in Clinical Microbiology, 2nd Edition, International Edition presents a wealth of relevant information to clinical pathologists, directors and supervisors of clinical microbiology, infectious disease physicians, point-of-care laboratories, professionals using industrial applications of diagnostic microbiology and other healthcare providers. The content will allow professionals to analyze all commercially available methods to determine which works best in their particular laboratory, hospital, clinic, or setting. Updated to appeal to an international audience, The Manual of Commercial Methods in Clinical Microbiology, 2nd Edition, International Edition is an invaluable reference to those in the health science and medical fields.

White coats, Bunsen burners, beakers, flasks, and pipettes--the furnishings of the chemistry laboratory are familiar to most of us from our school days, but just how did these items come to be the crucial tools of science? Examining the history of the laboratory, Peter J. T. Morris offers a unique way to look at the history of chemistry itself, showing how the development of the laboratory helped shape modern chemistry.             Chemists, Morris shows, are one of the leading drivers of innovation in laboratory design and technology. He tells of fascinating lineages of invention and innovation, for instance, how the introduction of coal gas into Robert Wilhelm Bunsen's laboratory led to the eponymous burner, which in turn led to the development of atomic spectroscopy. Comparing laboratories across eras, from the furnace-centered labs that survived until the late eighteenth century to the cleanrooms of today, he shows how the overlooked aspects of science--the architectural design and innovative tools that have facilitated its practice--have had a profound impact on what science has been able to do and, ultimately, what we have been able to understand.  

In Medicine of Australian Mammals, more than 30 experts present the most current information available on the medical management of all taxa of Australian native mammals. This comprehensive text is divided into two parts. The first includes chapters on general topics relevant to the medical management of captive and free-ranging Australian native mammals such as: veterinary considerations for the rescue, treatment, rehabilitation and release of wildlife; veterinary aspects of hand-rearing orphaned marsupials; marine mammal strandings and the role of the veterinarian; and wildlife health investigation and necropsy of Australian mammals. The second part covers the medicine of specific taxa of Australian native mammals. Detailed information on taxonomy, distribution, biology, anatomy, physiology, reproduction, husbandry, nutrition, physical and chemical restraint, clinical pathology, hand-rearing, diseases, zoonoses, therapeutics, reproductive management and surgery is included. This practical, one-source reference is complemented by detailed photographs and illustrations, as well as tables listing reproductive and physiological data, diets, haematology and biochemistry values, and drug formularies. Appendices include a checklist of the mammals of Australia and its territories and a guide to the identification of common parasites of Australian mammals. Medicine of Australian Mammals is clinically oriented and is a must-have for veterinary clinicians, no matter how experienced. The book will also be of use to veterinary students, researchers, biologists, zoologists, wildlife carers and other wildlife professionals.

The science of botany underwent a dramatic change in the late nineteenth century. A reform movement originating in Germany took the traditionally destructive approach to the study of plant structure and physiology and transformed it into a study of plant adaptation. The young scientists who initiated this approach were influenced by factors both scientific and political. Darwin's natural selection theory and the German Reich's interest in colonial expansion provided the background for a new botanical methodology, which treated Nature as the Laboratory. The work of these botanists, including Gottlieb Haberlandt, Georg Volkens, A. F. W. Schimper, and Ernst Stahl, influenced the subsequent development of botanical science in the twentieth century and contributed significantly to the emergence of the new science of ecology. In this 1990 book, Eugene Cittadino describes in detail their early careers, their zeal for Darwinian selection theory, and their sometimes hazardous expeditions into exotic environments from Africa to the East Indies.

Irina Goryacheva authors this volume titled Rapid Immunotests for Clinical, Food and Environmental Applications that is devoted to the latest research in the area of the construction and application of rapid immunotests with plasmonic and luminescent detection, with special attention paid to the achievements of nanotechnology in the areas of labels and solid supports creation.With close attention to the basic principles and the specific issues, considering the breadth of the field that the rapid tests may offer, the coverage of this book is by no means complete, keeping open space for challenge and research

Stress has been recognized as an important factor in the development or recurrence of various mental disorders, from major depressive disorder to bipolar disorder to anxiety disorders. Stressful stimuli also appear to exert their effects by acting upon individuals with susceptible genotypes.Over the past 50 years, animal models have been developed to study these dynamic interactions between stressful stimuli and genetically susceptible individuals during prenatal and postnatal development and into adulthood.Stress and Mental Disorders: Insights from Animal Models begins with a discussion of the history of psychiatric diagnosis and the recent goal of moving toward precision psychiatry, followed by a review of clinical research on connections between stressful stimuli and the development of psychiatricdisorders. Chapters are also included on neuroendocrine, immune, and brain systems involved in responses to stress. Additional chapters focus on the development of animal models in psychiatry and the susceptibility of the developing organism to stressful stimuli. Subsequent chapters are devoted toanimal models of specific stress-sensitive psychiatric disorders, including schizophrenia, autism spectrum disorders, bipolar disorder, anxiety disorders, depression, and post-traumatic stress disorder. These chapters also focus on identification of promising molecular targets for development of newdrug therapies. The section concludes with a chapter on animal models of resilience to stress-induced behavioral alterations as a newer approach to understanding why some animals are susceptible to stress and others are resilient, even though they are essentially genetically identical. The finalchapter discusses how these basic laboratory studies are providing promising leads for future breakthroughs in the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of mental disorders.