LibGuides: Moffett Library Periodicals: Open Access

Open Access Journal Content Resources

Academic Journals
Multi-Subject Database : Academic Journals is a broad-based publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals. Academic Journals currently publishes 111 open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences.
BASE
Bielefield Academic Search Engine (BASE) is a search engine for academic open access resources on the web.
Bentham Open
Bentham Open publishes a number of peer-reviewed, open access journals, covering all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
BioMed Central
BMC is a publisher of STEM open access, peer-reviewed journals.
BMJ Open
BMJ Open is an online, open access journal, dedicated to publishing medical research from all disciplines and therapeutic areas.
Brill Full Open Access Journals
Brill is a scholarly publisher with open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Cambridge University Open Access
Open access, peer-reviewed journals and articles published by Cambridge University Press.
CDC Wonder
Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER)--is an easy-to-use internet system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections promotes high quality research in child care and early education and the use of that research in policy making. The vision is that children are well cared for and have rich learning experiences, and their families are supported and able to work. Through this Web site, we offer research and data resources for researchers, policy makers, practitioners, and others.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
From the Library of Congress, digitized newspapers from 1836-1922 can be browsed and searched by state, keyword or advanced search. Additional links are available to a newspaper title directory for publications from 1690 – present.
Cogprints
CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behavior genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
Congress.gov
Library of Congress' website about the United States Congress containing the full-text of Congressional publications (bills, hearings, reports, debates, and statutes). It also contains committee information and information on the legislative process.
CORE
Open Access repository for research papers.
DailyMed
This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Digital Commons Network
Brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
DOAJ
Directory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
EBSCO sponsored open access repository for dissertations.
Education Commons
Open access academic research from top universities on the subject of education.
Elsevier Open Access Journals
A collection of open access, peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier.
Federal Register Online
Official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents.
FRASER- Federal Reserve Archive
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) began as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis in 2004. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
Frontiers Open Access Journals
Froniters is a publisher of open access, peer-reviewed journals and an Open Science platform.
GeoRef Open Access Journals
GeoRef provides full access to journals and series in geology, geography, and related disciplines.
Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. This link will take you to a page that explains how to set up MSU's resources in Google Scholar first.
Highwire Press Open Access
Highwire Press assists in publishing over 2 million free full text articles.
JSTOR Open
Explore academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.
JSTOR Register & Read
Individual accounts enable independent researchers to access free JSTOR articles. Although they are intended for individuals who are unaffiliated with a school or library, these accounts also provide tools for all kinds of researchers, from students to scholars to independent historians, to save their work (and organize citations for projects, articles, and papers) directly on the JSTOR site.
JURN
Directory of open access Arts and Humanities journals.
Karger Open Access Journals
Searchable gateway of open access journals for every biomedical discipline
Law Commons
Portal of legal scholarship made available through bepress Digital Commons repositories. Includes journal-published content, working papers, books, law school publications, government materials, etc.
Making of America
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints
MDPI Open Access
Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute (MDPI) is a leading scholarly open access publisher.
OAIster
One of the original open access databases with over 23 million records. Originally developed at the University of Michigan with support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation it gathered Open Archives Initiative compliant resources (still a standard of Open Access) but is now maintained by OCLC and delivered on the Worldcat platform.
OATD
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions
OMICS Open Access Journals
Open access, peer-reviewed journals published by OMICS.
Open Access Button
Search engine that allow users to search for research articles without subscriptions.
Open Library of Humanities
International library consortium with the sole mission of advancing open access to research in academic journals across the humanities disciplines. All academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review.
PDQT Open Theses
ProQuest sponsored open access repository for dissertations and theses.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 46,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).
PLOS
Public Library of Science Provides open/free access to scholarly journals over a wide range of biology and medicine topics. Dates of Coverage: 2000 - Current.
Project Muse Open Access
Platform for open access journals and eBooks.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
SAGE Open
Open access, peer-reviewed journals/articles published by SAGE.
Science.gov
An interagency portal that makes available selected authoritative scientific web sites and databases of technical reports¸ journal articles¸ conference proceedings¸ and other published materials from science agencies throughout the federal government. The web pages and the databases can be searched individually or simultaneously from the search page. Includes links to full text.
Springer Open
Open access, peer-reviewed journals published by Springer Nature.
SSOAR
The Social Science Open Access Repository contains both pre- and post-print articles from a wide range of the social sciences. It is certified by the German Initiative for Networked Information (DINI). It has both English and foreign language publications.
SSRN
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is an open access repository of abstracts and full text papers by social science researchers from around the world.
Taylor & Francis Open Access
Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access, peer-reviewed journals. They also include hybrid journals with open access articles.
USGS Publications Warehouse
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 130,000 publications written by U.S. Geological Survey scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau. This includes official publications such as USGS-authored journal articles, series reports, book chapters, other government publications, and conference proceedings.
Wiley Open Access Journals
A collection of open access, peer-reviewed journals published by Wiley.

Guidelines for Evaluating OA Journals

Discover peer-reviewed journals using library search tools
Scope of the journal is well-defined and clearly stated
Journal is affiliated with or sponsored by an established scholarly society or academic institution
Review past issues: does the content look topical and credible? Are the authors known to you?
Is the journal registered in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Does the website provide complete contact information: email, street address, working phone number?
Does it have a valid online ISSN?
Articles have DOIs (Digital Object Identifier, e.g., doi:10.1111/j.1742-9544.2011.00054.x)
Journals are disseminated via research databases (academic abstracting and indexing services) such as JSTOR, PubMed, EBSCOhost, ProQuest (even Google Scholar).
Journal clearly indicates rights for use and re-use of content at article level (e.g., Creative Commons CC BY license)

Credit: Stony Brook University, Libraries (https://library.stonybrook.edu/scholarly-communication/know-journal-legitimate/) & Grand Valley State University Libraries (https://www.gvsu.edu/library/sc/open-access-journal-quality-indicators-5.htm)

Moffett Library Periodicals: Open Access

Open Access Resources

Open Access Journal Content Resources

Guidelines for Evaluating OA Journals