Special Collections
🏛️ What is Special Collections?
The department is responsible for acquiring and preserving rare books, manuscripts, photographs, archival records, and artifacts related to various collections.
📜 Rare Books & Manuscripts
First editions
Historical texts
Handwritten documents
🗃️ University Archives
MSU Texas history
Yearbooks & student newspapers
Photographs & official records
Faculty collections
🖼️ Regional History Collections
Wichita Falls & North Texas
Texas Politicians Papers
Oral histories
Railraod maps & local records
📰 Historic Newspapers
Archived local and state publications
Students
Faculty & staff
Researchers
Community historians
Supports research & scholarship
Preserves MSU and regional history
Offers unique insights into the past
Connects students to primary sources
Visit the Special Collections Room – Room 207, Second Floor
Schedule an Appointment with the Special Collections Librarian. Walk-ins are also welcome during operating hours.
Browse Collection Finding Aids - Each collection and many of its sub-collections have a finding aid to help researchers locate the desired information within the collection.
Request Materials – Staff-assisted retrieval
Explore Digitized Items – Online archives available 24/7
In-library use only
Handle materials with care
No food or drink
Wash your hands before handling items
No flash photography
Moffett Library – Special Collections
📍 Moffett Library, Room 207
📧 Email: alissa.russell@msutexas.edu
📞 Phone: (940) 397-4755
🌐 Website: https://libguides.msutexas.edu/specialcollections
🕒 Hours: Mon–Fri, 9 AM – 4 PM (or by appointment)