It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This invaluable resource is made available via EBSCOhost®. It contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.
This invaluable resource is made available via EBSCOhost®. It contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.
OCLC's WorldCat (public search interface). Look for books, videos, and more from libraries worldwide.
Case Studies and Theory Development in the Social Sciences by Alexander L. George; Andrew Bennett
Call Number: H61 .G46 2005
Publication Date: 2005-02-15
Winner of the 2006 Giovanni Sartori Book Award, given by the American Political Science Association's Qualitative Methods Section. The use of case studies to build and test theories in political science and the other social sciences has increased in recent years. Many scholars have argued that the social sciences rely too heavily on quantitative research and formal models and have attempted to develop and refine rigorous methods for using case studies. This text presents a comprehensive analysis of research methods using case studies and examines the place of case studies in social science methodology. It argues that case studies, statistical methods, and formal models are complementary rather than competitive. The book explains how to design case study research that will produce results useful to policymakers and emphasizes the importance of developing policy-relevant theories. It offers three major contributions to case study methodology: an emphasis on the importance of within-case analysis, a detailed discussion of process tracing, and development of the concept of typological theories. Case Studies and Theory Development in the Social Scienceswill be particularly useful to graduate students and scholars in social science methodology and the philosophy of science, as well as to those designing new research projects, and will contribute greatly to the broader debate about scientific methods.
Injury Impoverished by Nate Holdren
Call Number: KF3615 .H55 2020
Publication Date: 2020-04-09
The late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century US economy maimed and killed employees at an astronomically high rate, while the legal system left the injured and their loved ones with little recourse. In the 1910s, US states enacted workers' compensation laws, which required employers to pay a portion of the financial costs of workplace injuries. Nate Holdren uses a range of archival materials, interdisciplinary theoretical perspectives, and compelling narration to criticize the shortcomings of these laws. While compensation laws were a limited improvement for employees in economic terms, Holdren argues that these laws created new forms of inequality, causing people with disabilities to lose their jobs, while also resulting in new forms of inhumanity. Ultimately, this study raises questions about law and class and about when and whether our economy and our legal system produce justice or injustice.
Interviewing as Qualitative Research by Irving Seidman
Call Number: H61.28 .S45 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
The Third Edition of this bestselling resource provides clear, step-by-step guidance for new and experienced interviewers to help them develop, shape, and reflect on interviewing as a qualitative research process. While proposing a phenomenological approach to in-depth interviewing, the author also includes principles and methods that can be adapted to a range of interviewing approaches. Using concrete examples of interviewing techniques to illustrate the issues under discussion, this classic text helps readers to understand the complexities of interviewing and its connections to broader issues of qualitative research. Equally popular for individual and classroom use, the new Third Edition of Interviewing as Qualitative Researchfeatures: an introduction to the Institutional Review Board (IRB) process in its historical context, including an expanded discussion of informed consent and its complexities; apecial attention to the rights of participants in interview research as those rights interact with ethical issues; and updated references and suggestions for additional reading for a deeper consideration of methodological, ethical, and philosophical issues, including relevant Internet resources.
An Introduction to Qualitative Research Synthesis by Maggi Savin-Baden
Call Number: H62 .M23583 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-28
Providing a comprehensive guide for understanding, interpreting and synthesizing qualitative studies, An Introduction to Qualitative Research Synthesis shows how data can be collated together effectively to summarise existing bodies of knowledge and to create a more complete picture of findings across different studies The authors describe qualitative research synthesis and argue for its use, describing the process of data analysis, synthesis and interpretation and provide specific details and examples of how the approach works in practice. This accessible book: fully explains the qualitative research synthesis approach; provides advice and examples of findings; describes the process of establishing credibility in the research process; provides annotated examples of the work in process; references published examples of the approach across a wide variety of fields. Helping researchers to understand, make meaning and synthesize a wide variety of datasets, this book is broad in scope yet practical in approach. It will be beneficial to those working in social science disciplines, including researchers, teachers, students and policy makers, especially those interested in methods of synthesis such as meta-ethnography, qualitative meta-analysis, qualitative meta-synthesis, interpretive synthesis, narrative synthesis, and qualitative systematic review.
Social, Economic, and Political Perspectives on Public Health Policy-Making by Rahmatollah Gholipour (Editor); Khadijeh Rouzbehani (Editor)
Call Number: RA395.A3 S693 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-30
Presently, the healthcare industry is grappling with many challenges both nationally and globally, including escalating costs, a move to a preventative care environment and a technology savvy patient with high expectations. To accommodate the changing health demands of the current global population, public healthcare policy must undergo a critical analysis. Social, Economic, and Political Perspectives on Public Health Policy-Making provides an extensive and rich compilation of research on the role of public policy in the healthcare sector and how policy reform will impact the future of healthcare delivery and administration. This research-based publication is composed of chapters from various international experts in the healthcare sector, focusing on the areas of healthcare access, quality, and value in the 21st century. Government agencies, policymakers, healthcare professionals, hospital administrators, and graduate-level students studying within the fields of government and healthcare administration will find this publication to be an essential resource.
Understanding the U. S. Health Services System by Phoebe Barton
Call Number: RA395.A3 B27 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-30
This book provides a straightforward explanation of the complex health services system. It explains the basic concepts as well as current issues to clarify how the U.S. health services system is organized, managed, and financed. This edition addresses the many changes happening in the U.S. healthcare system and updates data and statistics so readers can understand and discuss the current issues. New in the fourth edition: An update on the changes to Medicare coverage, including adding means testing on optional coverage for beneficiaries A new discussion of the legislation the current administration would like to implement for universal healthcare coverage A new focus on the quality-of-care debate and pay-for-performance incentives New requirements for not-for-profit hospitals to report services provided in order to validate their tax status An update on managed care and how universal coverage could change payment and delivery Updated information on biomedical research and the debate on whether the United States will remain a leader on this effort A new discussion of the effects of the current economic downturn on healthcare An updated discussion on the status of the healthcare workforce and how nursing and possible physician shortages will affect our system A discussion on healthcare expenditures and the estimated 47 million people who are currently uninsured A master bibliography has been created and is now located at the back of the book Updated glossary and acronym list
The Value of Health by Marcos Cueto
Call Number: RA10 .C8413 2007
Publication Date: 2007-02-28
Marcos Cueto, a widely published medical historian, presents an appealing and well-documented narrative that describes the origins of public health and the creation of PAHO and culminates with the Organization's response to globalization and its commitment to the Millennium Development Goals. The history of PAHO's institutional heritage, notes the author, is "a rich testimony to the depth and breadth of health's value . . . as an indispensable requirementfor peace, security, tolerance, and solidarity . . . and a means of achieving equity . . . in all social spheres."Marcos Cueto is Professor in the School of Public Health at the Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia inLima, Peru, and editor of Missionaries of Science: The Rockefeller Foundation and Latin America [Indiana University Press, 1994].