It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. In short, the DOAJ aims to be THE one stop shop for users of open access journals.
Full-text articles and abstracts, including images, from journals in the following fields: agriculture, library science, anthropology, literature, business, medicine, economics, philosophy, education, political science, fine arts, psychology, geography, religion and religions, history, science, language, social sciences, law, and technology.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database covers an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains images, brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film-making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
JSTOR is a digital library that contains full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Moffett Library subscribes to the following JSTOR Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Business, and Language and Literature.
JSTOR does not contain current articles; journal issues are typically added to JSTOR two to five years after publication in what is referred to as a "moving wall," which is the gap between the most recently published issue of a journal and the date the most recent issues are available in JSTOR. It is a great source for older articles, as some journals go back as far as the 1800s.
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broard collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. This is an excellent database for information on current issues or business.
Covers all aspects of philosophy, including ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics and logic. Contains indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields.
Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With nearly 300 full-text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas listed above, the Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Swank Digital Campus provides streaming access to a limited number of feature films. Films may be shown in class or assigned to enrolled students to view outside of class. The films do not have public performance rights. The films accessible in Swank are determined by faculty and course requirements.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The eBook Collection provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
EBSCO provides ebooks in EPUB and Adobe PDF format. In order to view eBooks online in PDF format, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer. To save eBooks for later reading, please sign up for a My EBSCOhost account.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
Searches all the database supplied to the library by Gale. Search for any term or phrase and find articles from 1,000 of magazines, journals, newspapers and books along with videos, images and podcast content.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. This link will take you to a page that explains how to set up MSU's resources in Google Scholar first.
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Elsevier's ScienceDirect College Edition contains over 2000 full-text peer reviewed journals. The journals cover behavioral & social sciences, health & life sciences, and physical sciences from 1995 - present.
MSU has access to the following collections: Health & Life Sciences: 1,200+ journals, Physical Sciences: 700+ journals, Social & Behavioral Sciences: 450+ journals.