Offers a wide range of information for scholars and researchers studying early childhood music learning and development.

This comprehensive text presents contemporary theories and practices of music education, including strategies for developing pitch, vocal, rhythmic, instrumental, listening, movement and creative responses in children. This book also includes chapters on technology, multiculturalism, motivation and management, special learners, assessment, and curriculum integration and development.

Designed to provide sample month-by-month and yearly plans for each grade level from one to six, this step-by-step guide features a collection of more than 200 songs organized precisely in the sequence of the Kodaly Method. It presents a highly sequential music program in which singing, moving, listening, musical reading and writing, improvising and composing are the means through which children develop skills and acquire knowledge about melody, harmony, rhythm, form, tempo, timbre, and dynamics.

Featuring chapters by the world's foremost scholars in music education and cognition, this handbook is a convenient collection of current research on music teaching and learning. This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studio instruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs.

A practical guide and reference manual, Teaching Music to Children with Special Needs addresses special needs in the broadest possible sense to equip teachers with proven, research-based curricular strategies that are grounded in both best practice and current special education law.

A thorough and comprehensive guide to designing a music curriculum based upon the Kodaly pedagogical method. Discusses lesson planning, repertoire selection, musicianship, and more.

By acknowledging different cultural values and priorities, Alexandra Kertz-Welzel's framework for music education utilizes an interdisciplinary approach and emphasizes the need for developing a pluralistic mode of thinking, while underlining shared foundations and goals. She explores issues of educational transfer, differences in academic discourses worldwide, and the concept of the global mindset to help facilitate much-needed transformations in global music education.

This Too is Music guides and motivates teachers to foster playful and motivating classroom conditions that enable elementary students to thrive as musicians in every way- as singers, improvisers, critical listeners, storytellers, dancers, performers, and composers. Various teaching ideas are presented- some exploratory in nature, others involving direct instruction.

Offers a wide range of information for scholars and researchers studying early childhood music learning and development.

Featuring chapters by the world's foremost scholars in music education and cognition, this handbook is a convenient collection of current research on music teaching and learning. This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studio instruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs.

A practical guide and reference manual, Teaching Music to Children with Special Needs addresses special needs in the broadest possible sense to equip teachers with proven, research-based curricular strategies that are grounded in both best practice and current special education law.

A thorough and comprehensive guide to designing a music curriculum based upon the Kodaly pedagogical method. Discusses lesson planning, repertoire selection, musicianship, and more.

Essays on musical performance practice by the author of "The Oxford History of Western Music."