Art: Sample Titles

This anthology provides an overview of the history and theory of Chicano/a art from the 1960s to the present, emphasizing the debates and vocabularies that have played key roles in its conceptualization. In Chicano and Chicana Art--which includes many of Chicano/a art's landmark and foundational texts and manifestos--artists, curators, and cultural critics trace the development of Chicano/a art from its early role in the Chicano civil rights movement to its mainstream acceptance in American art institutions. Throughout this teaching-oriented volume they address a number of themes, including the politics of border life, public art practices such as posters and murals, and feminist and queer artists' figurations of Chicano/a bodies. They also chart the multiple cultural and artistic influences--from American graffiti and Mexican pre-Columbian spirituality to pop art and modernism--that have informed Chicano/a art's practice. Contributors. Carlos Almaraz, David Avalos, Judith F. Baca, Raye Bemis, Jo-Anne Berelowitz, Elizabeth Blair, Chaz Bojóroquez, Philip Brookman, Mel Casas, C. Ondine Chavoya, Karen Mary Davalos, Rupert García, Alicia Gaspar de Alba, Shifra Goldman, Jennifer A. González, Rita Gonzalez, Robb Hernández, Juan Felipe Herrera, Louis Hock, Nancy L. Kelker, Philip Kennicott, Josh Kun, Asta Kuusinen, Gilberto "Magu" Luján, Amelia Malagamba-Ansotegui, Amalia Mesa-Bains, Dylan Miner, Malaquias Montoya, Judithe Hernández de Neikrug, Chon Noriega, Joseph Palis, Laura Elisa Pérez, Peter Plagens, Catherine Ramírez, Matthew Reilly, James Rojas, Terezita Romo, Ralph Rugoff, Lezlie Salkowitz-Montoya, Marcos Sanchez-Tranquilino, Cylena Simonds, Elizabeth Sisco, John Tagg, Roberto Tejada, Rubén Trejo, Gabriela Valdivia, Tomás Ybarra-Frausto, Victor Zamudio-Taylor

At the seventh biennial David B. Warren Symposium, seven scholars examined varied cultures in Texas, the Lower South, and the Southwest before 1900 and their national and international context.  The resulting papers explore how diverse peoples interacted with material culture across the American South and Southwest and at the nexus of international trade networks. In this volume, Marion Oettinger explicates the biographies of six Texans of the 1700s. Evelyn Montgomery explores the transformation of  Texas log cabins to homes reflecting a "domestic" architectural aesthetic. Donna Pierce delves into the domestic furnishings of homes in Spanish Colonial New Mexico. Harry J. Shafer considers the material culture of early Native peoples in what is now Texas. Mark A. Goldberg analyzes the ways in which Native dress was understood and employed in Spanish and Mexican Texas. The publication concludes with an essay by Marjorie Denise Brown and Theresa Jach on the complex visual iconography of a silver inkwell with international connections.

Housed in a splendid 17th-century palace in The Hague, the Royal Picture Gallery Mauritshuis is home to some of the world's most beloved paintings--including Vermeer's Girl with a Pearl Earring--and has become a destination for art enthusiasts from around the world. This engaging, accessible companion volume to a long-awaited exhibition guides readers through the highlights of the collection as if they were wandering the historic rooms themselves. A lavish plate section features 35 works, each accompanied by texts that explore its historical provenance and individual significance. Curatorial essays describe the building's founder, Count Johan Maurits, and his experience as a Dutch colonist in the New World; the formation of the collection; and also recent discoveries about the materials and techniques employed by these great artists. Fans of Vermeer's iconic masterpiece will delight in discovering that it is one of many beautiful artworks in the Mauritshuis's elegant rooms.

An innovative look at the contribution of montage to twentieth-century architecture Graphic Assembly unearths the role played by montage and collage in the development of architectural culture over the past century, revealing their unexamined yet crucial significance. Craig Buckley brings together experimental architectural practices based in London, Paris, Vienna, and Florence, showing how breakthroughs in optical media and printing technologies enabled avant-garde architects to reimagine their field. Graphic Assembly considers a range of architects and movements from the 1950s through the early '70s, including Theo Crosby, Hans Hollein, and John McHale; the magazine Clip-Kit; and the groups Archigram, Superstudio, and Utopie. It gives a thorough account of how montage concepts informed the design of buildings, prototypes, models, exhibitions, and multimedia environments, accompanied by Buckley's insightful interpretations of the iconic images, exhibitions, and buildings of the 1960s that mark how the decade is remembered. Richly illustrated with never-before-published material from more than a dozen archives and private collections, Graphic Assembly offers a comparative overview of the network of experimental architectural practice in Europe. It provides a deep historical account of the cut-and-paste techniques now prevalent with architecture's digital turn, demonstrating the great importance of montage to architecture past, present, and future.

Who are history's most iconic graphic designers? Let the debate begin here. In this gorgeous, visual overview of the history of graphic design, students are introduced to 50 of the most important designers from the early 20th century to the present day. This fun-to-read, pretty-to-look-at graphic design history primer introduces them to the work and notable achievements of such industry luminaries as El Lissitzky, Alexander Rodchenko, A.M. Cassandre, Alvin Lustig, Cipe Pineles, Armin Hofmann, Paul Rand, Saul Bass, Herb Lubalin, Milton Glaser, Stefan Sagmeister, John Maeda, Paula Scher, and more. Who coined the term "graphic design"? Who designed the first album cover? Who was the first female art director of a mass-market American magazine? Who created the "I Want My MTV" ad campaign? Who created the first mail-order font shop? In Graphic Icons: Visionaries Who Shaped Modern Graphic Design, students start with the who and quickly learn the what, when, why, and where behind graphic design's most important breakthroughs and the impact they had, and continue to have, on the world we live in.

Leo Steinberg was one of the most original and daring art historians of the twentieth century, known for taking interpretative risks that challenged the profession by overturning reigning orthodoxies. In essays and lectures that ranged from old masters to contemporary art, he combined scholarly erudition with an eloquent prose that illuminated his subject and a credo that privileged the visual evidence of the image over the literature written about it. His works, sometimes provocative and controversial, remain vital and influential reading.   For half a century, Steinberg delved into Michelangelo's work, revealing the symbolic structures underlying the artist's highly charged idiom. This volume of essays and unpublished lectures explicates many of Michelangelo's most celebrated sculptures, applying principles gleaned from long, hard looking. Almost everything Steinberg wrote included passages of old-fashioned formal analysis, but here put to the service of interpretation. He understood that Michelangelo's rendering of figures as well as their gestures and interrelations conveys an emblematic significance masquerading under the guise of naturalism. Michelangelo pushed Renaissance naturalism into the furthest reaches of metaphor, using the language of the body and its actions to express fundamental Christian tenets once expressible only by poets and preachers--or, as Steinberg put it, in Michelangelo's art, "anatomy becomes theology."   Michelangelo's Sculpture is the first in a series of volumes of Steinberg's selected writings and unpublished lectures, edited by his longtime associate Sheila Schwartz. The volume also includes a book review debunking psychoanalytic interpretation of the master's work, a light-hearted look at Michelangelo and the medical profession and, finally, the shortest piece Steinberg ever published.  

Printmaking is a practical and comprehensive guide to printmaking techniques with clear step-by-step illustrations. This fully updated second edition contains new images throughout, including improved process shots and examples of the latest work from contemporary printmakers. There are expanded chapters on digital and mixed media processes, as well as a brand new 'Print & Make' chapter, which explores the opportunities for creative expression within the many processes available to print makers. For example, this edition includes a new, detailed section on Japanese moku hanga woodblock printing while the more traditional techniques of relief, intaglio, collograph, lithography, screen printing and monoprint have also been refreshed. The addition of new images showing a broader range of subject matter, include more contemporary prints and international artists. Each technique is explored from the development of the printing or digital matrix, through the different stages of creation to image output. Guidance on how to set up a print studio, sections on troubleshooting techniques and the inclusion of up-to-date lists of suppliers, workshops and galleries make this an essential volume for beginner and experienced printmakers alike. Special attention is given to safe practices, addressing the important concern for health and safety. Step-by-step illustrations provide an enhanced visual reference - either photographic or diagrams for clarity - and the authors have supplied more information on safer and more sustainable practices. Since nontoxic alternatives are a rapidly growing and ever-evolving landscape, Printmaking 2nd Edition presents products and practices that are accessible worldwide. Praise for Printmaking 2nd Edition 'A lavishly illustrated large-format volume that constitutes a veritable printmaker's bible.' - The West Australia News

Planning today is more important than ever. Both acquisition and allocation of resources are increasingly difficult for arts organizations as a result of emerging technologies, reduced arts education, aging donors, and the advent of new forms of entertainment. It is essential for arts organizations to take a coherent approach to these issues to remain vibrant over time. In fact, most arts organizations do periodically attempt some kind of planning exercise. But a review of hundreds of such plans suggests that most contain merely a wish list, rather than concrete plans for the future: ?We will increase ticket sales!? is a common ?strategy? expressed in too many arts plans. In the absence of details about how ticket sales will be increased, it's an empty promise. In Strategic Planning in the Arts, Michael M. Kaiser, the former head of the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC, and an arts management guru, has produced a clear, concise guide for staff or board members of not-for-profit arts organizations who are responsible for developing, evaluating, or implementing plans. Relying on real-world cases and examples, Kaiser shows how to conceive, assess, and act on every part of the strategic plan, from the mission statement to the financial statement; from managing the board to marketing. Praise for Michael Kaiser: ?A rich yet tidy cornucopia of solutions for the challenges facing the American arts scene.??Washington Post

Representations of older transgender people are nearly absent from our culture and those that do exist are often one-dimensional. For over five years, photographer Jess T. Dugan and social worker Vanessa Fabbre travelled throughout the United States creating To Survive on this Shore: Photographs and Interviews with Transgender and Gender Non-Conforming Older Adults. The resulting monograph provides a nuanced view into the struggles and joys of growing older as a transgender person and offers a poignant reflection on what it means to live authentically despite seemingly insurmountable odds.