According to the National Archives, finding aids "are tools that help a user find information in a specific record group, collection, or series of archival materials."
The finding aid includes the historical background and scope of materials for a collection, often including an inventory of materials in the collection. Finding aids help researchers determine if a collection is relevant to their research efforts.
Common elements found in a finding aid include:
Summary Information: This section will list the creator, call number(s), the abstract of the collection contents, the size of the collection, and any language(s) present in the collection.
Access and Use Restrictions: This section will note any access restriction placed on the collection that could prohibit researchers from having access. Other information will include acquisition information, copyright and citation notes, and storage location.
History: This section provides historical or biographical information regarding the person(s) or organization(s) related to the collection and its creator.
Scope and Content: This section provides an overview of the types of materials in the collection. It also details the strengths of the collection in connection with potential research efforts.
Arrangement: This section details how the collection is arranged. A note is often available regarding if the collection is in the original order or organized by the processing archivist/librarian.
Subject Terms/Access Points: This section includes a list of subject terms, names, topics, etc. related to the collection. The terms are compliant with Library of Congress headings.
Related Materials: This section points the researcher to other collections in the department that are closely related to the collection described in the finding aid.
Contents Listing: This is sometimes called "Inventory," "Container list," or "Box and Folder list." This is essentially an inventory of the materials available in the collection. The level of detail in this section will vary depending on collection needs or repository practices. It could be box-by-box, folder-by-folder, or each individual item listed.