Visitors and researchers may take photographs of collection materials. Special Collection staff reserves the right to restrict or prohibit photography when it may cause physical harm to materials; violates donor or repository access restrictions; disrupts other researchers; or if items have already been digitized. Researchers may request digital copies of materials at no expense. All digital copies will be made by Special Collection staff and delivered within 7 business days.
General Guidelines:
- Hand-held cameras, cell phones, and tablets are permitted. Flash photography is prohibited.
- Scanners, camera bags, flash, tripods, lighting equipment, video cameras, copy stands, and laptop cameras are not permitted.
- No photographs of Special Collections staff or other researchers may be taken without permission.
Photographing Materials:
- All bound materials must remain on the research table in provided supports and cradles. Special Collection staff will assist with cradle set-up and provide book weights upon request.
- Researchers must not attempt to press down on or flatten volumes in order to get a better image.
- All unbound loose material must remain flat on the reading table in its folder. The material must remain in the exact order in which it is found.
- Do not remove items from sleeves or enclosures without permission. Gloves may be required when handling photographs.
- Large items may need extra table space or support. Before opening or unfolding any item, notify Special Collections staff for assistance.
- Materials must not be placed on the ground with the exception of large railroad maps.
Permissions:
- Researchers intending to use reproductions of Special Collections items assume sole risk in doing so. Responsibility for observance of copyright and other publication rights, including literary rights, as governed by the copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) and other applicable laws, rests with the researcher and not with Special Collections, Moffett Library. The researcher shall indemnify and hold harmless Special Collections, Moffett Library against any and all claims incurred by copyright infringement or any other legal or regulatory cause of action that arises from the use of Special Collections, Moffett Library materials.
- Researchers are responsible for determining if the material is in the public domain or whether their intended use of the images is within the limits of fair use.
- In some cases, Midwestern State University can claim only physical ownership of collection materials. Midwestern State University does not grant written permission for any type of use of reproductions taken by researchers unless it holds a copyright to it.
- Photographs may not be transferred to any other institution or collection.
