Special Collections

Information For Researchers:

Moffett Library Special Collections department acquires and preserves rare books, manuscripts, photographs, records, and artifacts related to various collections. Please see the Rare Books and Special Collections Development Policy for more information regarding collections.

Hours:

The department is open to students, faculty, staff, and the public on Monday thru Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Appointments are available upon written request to the Special Collections librarian.

Regulations:

1. No ink of any kind may be used in the research area; use pencils only.
2. Smoking, eating, and drinking are prohibited in Special Collections.
3. All archival materials must be handled carefully: use only one folder at a time and keep the papers in their existing order. Do not place books or volumes face down. Do not lean or press on archival materials. Do not trace maps or other records.
4. No material in the department may be removed from the research area. Department materials are non-circulating.
5. Persons requesting access to restricted materials must contact the person or agency imposing the restrictions. The department cannot permit access to these materials without written authorization.
6. Researchers are advised that it is their responsibility, not Special Collections, to obtain copyright clearance to publish or otherwise reproduce or distribute archival material. Whenever possible, the librarian will provide the names and addresses of copyright holders.

Please see the Archives and Special Collections Handling Guide for more information regarding the proper handling and use of department materials. 

Research Assistance:

Special Collections is glad to provide reference assistance to all patrons, however, in-person reference assistance will receive first priority. The Special Collections Librarian is able to provide reference assistance by mail, telephone, and email. In reference requests, please include your name and complete contact information, and your specific question regarding an item or collection. Reference inquiries will be addressed in the order they are received, and a response should be expected within 5 business days. The librarian is only able to provide in-depth research services by scheduled appointments. Send your requests to alissa.russell@msutexas.edu. 

Photocopying:

Unless restricted or protected by copyright conditions, photocopies of material will be supplied for research purposes within 7 business days.

Researchers may take photos of materials using their own cameras. Flash photography is prohibited.

Review Finding Aids:

Each collection housed within the Special Collections department includes a finding aid that introduces researchers and students to the collection. The finding aid provides insight into specific collection materials and how the collection was created. Reviewing finding aids will help instructors decide what collections are appropriate for class tours/research projects. 

Class Policies and Procedures:

Special Collections welcomes all students, faculty, staff, and the general public to visit and conduct research within our collections. We do ask, however, that prior to your visit, visitors review the department handling policy. Participants of class visits and instruction services must follow the same regulations as outside researchers (See Regulations section above).

Please see the Archives and Special Collections Handling Guide for more information regarding the proper handling and use of department materials. 

Logistics:

The Special Collections reading room can accommodate up to 49 persons for class visits/tours. Student research or instruction is limited to 16 persons.